How to Cancel an ILT Class

These instructions are for administrators who want to cancel an ILT class so it no longer shows up on the Employee Training Center (ETC).

Step 1:

Log in to start on the Employee Training Center (ETC) dashboard

Employee Training Center Dashboard / homepage.

Step 2:

Click on the Administration icon

Arrow pointing to Administration Icon.

Step 3:

In the drop-down menu, click on Learning Activities

Arrow pointing to Learning Activities

The screen will refresh to the Learning Activities page

Learning Activities page.

Step 4:

Search for the ILT course you would like to cancel in the Search box

It is recommended to use the Course ID to ensure you are cancelling the correct class. 

Arrow pointing to search field

Step 5:

Click the Magnifying Glass icon to search

Arrow pointing to search button

Step 6:

The screen will refresh with the search result(s)

Click the Edit button for the class you want to cancel

Activity management page with search results
Arrow point to the Edit button for a course

Prior to canceling, please confirm whether there are registrants for your course and notify them of your cancellation .

Step 7:

The screen will refresh to the Learning Activities Properties page

Locate the Roster button in the upper left corner to determine if the course has registrants

An arrow points to the Edit caret button

Click on Roster

An arrow points to roster button

The Activity's Roster page will reveal any course registrants. SumTotal will not automatically notify registrants of course cancellations.

Step 8:

If there are registrants listed, please notify them of the course's cancellation via Outlook

If there are no registrants, proceed to Step 10

A list of course registrants is highlighted

Step 9:

After notifying registrants, click on Cancel to return to the Learning Activity Properties page

Then, proceed to Step 11

An arrow points to the cancel button at the botth of the manage roster page

Step 10:

If there are no registrants, you will see a 'There are no records to display' message  

Click on Cancel to return to the Learning Activity Properties page

A message is highlighted that reads, "There are no records to display."

Step 11:

You will be returned to the Learning Activity Properties

Click the Send to Stage button, to begin cancelling this activity

Arrow pointing to Send to Stage button

Step 12:

On the right side of the page, click on the Optional button

Arrow pointing to Optional button

Step 13:

The screen will refresh to the Learning Activity Properties page

Under Configure general properties for your activity, click on the Status link

Arrow pointing to Status link

Step 14:

The screen will refresh to the Configure general properties page

The class status checkbox defaults to Active

Configure general properties page with highlighted active box

Uncheck the Active box

Arrow pointing to unchecked box next to Active text.

Step 15:

Check the Canceled checkbox

Green arrow pointing to checked box next to Canceled text.

Step 16:

Click the Status dropdown menu

Select Inactive

Status dropdown menu highlighting Inactive text,

Step 17:

Click on the OK button on the bottom right corner of the page

Configure general properties page. Green arrow pointing to OK button.

Step 18:

The screen will refresh to the Learning Activity Properties page

Click on the View Tracks button in the upper left corner of your screen

Checklist page
Arrow pointing to View Tracks

Step 19:

Under Properties, click on General

Arrow pointing to General link

Step 20:

The screen will refresh to the Properties page where the class reflects Active

Properties page

Uncheck the Active box

Arrow pointing to unchecked box next to Active text.

Step 21:

Click on the OK button

Arrow pointing to OK button

Step 22:

The screen will refresh to the Track Properties page

Locate the View Activities button in the upper left corner of the screen

Properties page

Click on the View Activities button

Arrow pointing to View Activities page

Step 23:

The screen will refresh to the Learning Activity Properties page

(Now that you have made changes to the course, you need to put the changes into production)

On the bottom left-hand corner of the screen, click on the Validate For Production button

Arrow pointing to Validate for Production button

Step 24:

Click on the Move To Production button

Arrow pointing to Move to Production button

A loading screen will appear while the system updates. Do not close the screen.

Loading screen

Step 25:

Confirm the Activity Successfully Moved To Production shows at the top of the screen upon completion

Click Close

Arrow pointing to confirmation message

You are done. Great job!